Previous Next

Graduate Students

Monti Adams Adams Monti





Elizabeth Bass IMG 4587
Dissertation in Progress: "Scientists, Supporters, and Symbols: The Influence and Impact of Women in the Oil Industry, 1900-1970"
Research Interests: Oklahoma history, history of the oil and gas industry, gender 
Advisor: Holly Karibo






Reverend C.R. BrooksBrooks 1
Graduate Teaching Associate
167 Murray 
Dissertation in Progress: "Chisum's Pilgrimage"
Research Interests: African American History, Black Politics in the Progressive Era 
Advisor: James Huston 



Jana Brown jana brown300
Research Interests: Oklahoma History and African American History in the West
Advisor: Bill Bryans 




Jake Cornwelljakechairsmilecrop
Graduate Teaching Associate
163 Murray
Website: https://horsehidehistorian.wordpress.com 
Advisor: Douglas Miller 




Crystal Dunbardunbar
Graduate Teaching Associate
156 Murray 
Advisor: James Huston 




Emily DuncanHead Shot Duncan
Research Interests: American Early National Period, Public History,  and Gender





Jason HarrisJason 2
Research Interests: American Slave Culture and the Old South, Public History 
Dissertation: "The Civil War in Oklahoma in Public Memory"
Advisor: Bill Bryans 


B. Hinesley-Chambers23845918 1914059058907167 3955030905510682883 o
Research Interests: Public History, Women and Minorities  
Advisor:  Bill Bryans 





Samuel Jenningsjennings samuel
Graduate Teaching Associate
170 Murray
Research Interests: U.S. History, Religous History 
Advisor: Richard Boles 



Amanda Johnson johnson
Graduate Teaching Associate
165 Murray
Research Interests: Modern U.S. History, Native American History, Gender and Activism 
Advisor: Douglas Miller 





Michael Joslinmichael joslin
Research Interests: Native American History, Latin American History, Environmental History, Labor History, and Ethnic History
Advisor: Douglas Miller  




David Justice   Justice David b
Graduate Teaching Associate
169 Murray
Research Interests: Modern U.S. History, Diplomatic/Transnational, Modern Europe, Modern Spain
Dissertation Title: "U.S.-Spanish Cultural Diplomacy, 1969-1992"
Advisor: Laura Belmonte


Ketchem Jon

Jon “Jack” Ketchum
Graduate Teaching Assistant
156 Murray
Research Interests: Modern US History, American Religious History, Political History 
Disseration Title: "Rightward Moving Pews: The Political Realignment of Baptist Rural Oklahoma Congregations from 1960 to 1980"
Advisor: Laura Belmonte 



Sam LaSala IMG 2177
Research Interests: Modern US History, Diplomatic and Military History, World War II and the Cold War
Advisor: Laura Belmonte 


Garrett Looney
Graduate Teaching AssociateLooney Garrett
164 Murray
Research Interests: American Religious History 
Advisor: Richard Boles 



Jordan McAlister
mcalisterDoctoral Student in Geography 
Graduate Teaching Associate, History Department 
416 Murray 
Research Interests: cultural and human geography, historical geography, and historic preservation
Advisor: Brad Bays (Geography) 


Jennifer McKinneymckinney
Graduate Teaching Associate
167 Murray
Research Interests: Native American History, Historical Memory  
Advisor: Douglas Miller  




Andrew MoserMoser Andrew b
Graduate Teaching Associate
169 Murray
Advisor: Bill Bryans 



Janna "Jai" Rogersjai
Graduate Teaching Assistant
170 Murray
Research Interests: American Indian Slaveholding: Identity Politics, Assimilation, Acculturation, and Racialization 
Working Thesis Title: "Oklahoma Racial Divisions Traced to Federal Policies of Forced Assimilation and American Indian Slaveholding Prior to Statehood"
Advisor: Richard Boles 


Katie Rogersrogers katie
Graduate Teaching Assistant
170 Murray
Research Interests: United States since 1945  





Kristina Rogerskristina rogers
Graduate Teaching Associate
165 Murray
Research Interests: Nineteenth Century United States, Native America, Women and Gender 


Coleman Steinstein coleman
Advisor: John Kinder 




Jordan Stine20526048 10214128745881689 967610753532974809 n
Graduate Teaching Assistant
170 Murray
Research Interests: Early National Period, Jacksonian Era, and Anti-Catholicism in the United States
Advisor: Richard Boles  


Kurt Terry headshot

Kurt Terry
Graduate Teaching Associate
164 Murray
Research Interests: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century United States, American West, United States-Mexico Borderlands, and Latin America
Dissertation: "A New Religious Frontier: Protestantism in the American West, 1870-1915"
Advisor: Michael Logan 



Kaitlyn Weldon weldon
Graduate Teaching Assistant
170 Murray
Research Interests: American Western History 






Sheldon Yeakley Yeakley Sheldon
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Room: 170 Murray
Email: sheldon.yeakley@okstate.edu 
Research Interests: Native American History, Nineteenth Century American West
Advisor: Douglas Miller 









Contact Information

History Department Main Office

Telephone: (405) 744-5679
Mailing Address: 101 S. Murray Hall
Stillwater, OK 74078-3054


Key Contacts

Dr. Jason Lavery 
Professor and Department Head
101 Murray (south)
(405) 744-8182
Dr. Douglas Miller 
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Assistant 112 Murray (south)
Phone (405) 744-5679
Contact for questions about graduate studies in history at OSU
Dr. Anna Zeide
Undergraduate Advisor, Clinical Assistant Professor, Faculty Advisor for History Club
101 Murray (south)
(405) 744-8197
Contact for questions about undergraduate studies in history at OSU

Susan Oliver
Senior Administrative Support Specialist
101 Murray (south)
(405) 744-5680



anna zeide Dr. Anna Zeide, Undergraduate Advisor, Clinical Assistant Professor, Faculty Advisor for History Club
Address: 101B Murray (south)
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday, and by appointment (Fall 2015)
Email: zeide@okstate.edu
Phone (405) 744-8197
Courses Taught
HIST 1103 Survey of American History
HIST 2--3 History of the Present
HIST 2--3 Food in American Culture


oliverSusan Oliver, Sr. Administrative Support Specialist
Address 101 Murray (South)
Email susan.oliver@okstate.edu
Phone (405) 744-5680

Graduate Students

Graduate Students article...

Faculty by Field


African American:     Brandy Thomas Wells 
African:     Matthew Schauer
American West:           Laura Arata
      William S. Bryans
      Michael F. Logan
Ancient:     Tonia Sharlach
Asian:     Yongtao Du
      Matthew Schauer
European:     David D'Andrea
      Emily Graham
      Sarah Griswold
      Jason Lavery
      Lesley A. Rimmel
      Matthew Schauer 
Latin America:     Michael M. Smith
      Sarah Foss 
Middle East:     Thomas A. Carlson
Military:      Jennifer Murray 
      Justin Prince 
Native America and Indigenous:     Richard Boles 
      Sarah Foss 
      Douglas Miller
Public:     Laura Arata
      William S. Bryans
      Sarah Griswold
United States Pre-1865:     Richard Boles
      James L. Huston
      Jennifer Murray 
United States Post-1865:     Laura Arata
      William S. Bryans
      Michael F. Logan
      Douglas Miller
      Jennifer Murray 
United States Post-1945:     Laura Belmonte
      John Kinder
      Holly Karibo
      Douglas Miller 




Give to the History Department
Support Learning and Research

Give Button