Phi Alpha Theta


Phi Alpha Theta is a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication, and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. We seek to bring students, teachers, and professionals in all fields of history together for intellectual and social exchanges that promote and assist historical endeavours by our members in a variety of ways.

Graduate students wishing to join Phi Alpha Theta should have completed a minimum of 12 semester hours toward the Master's degree in history and have a GPA of better than 3.5. Undergraduate students wishing to join should have completed at least 12 semester hours in history with a GPA of at least 3.1 in history and have a GPA of 3.0 or better overall. Undergraduate membership is not limited to history majors. Membership requires a $40 initiation fee and a $10 annual chapter fee. 

Phi Alpha Theta events include a colloquium series presented by members of the history faculty and graduate students, an end-of-year honors banquet. Our chapter also provides travel funding for members presenting conference papers.Those interested in Phi Alpha Theta and the history department are welcome to attend our monthly socials, where faculty and students share refreshments and conversation in the Murray Hall Parlor. Please see the events page for specific dates adn times. 

Miller2c Doug

Phi Alpha Theta Faculty Advisor:

Dr. Douglas Miller, Assistant Professor of History
douglas.miller@okstate.edu

Student Officers for 2016-2017:

Menasco Cara

Cara Menasco, President
cara.menasco@okstate.edu

Barton Sarah

Sarah Barton, Vice President 
sarah.barton@okstate.edu

Fritz Emma

Emma Fritz, Secretary/Historian
emma.fritz@okstate.edu

vigil alyce

Alyce Webb, Treasurer 
alyce.webb@okstate.edu

 

 

Eberle Jared

Jared Eberle, Representative to GPSGA
 jared.eberle@okstate.edu

Ketchem Jon

Jon “Jack” Ketchum, Representative to GPSGA
jonk@okstate.edu